Go Back   Planet Minis > Forum > General Talk > NSR50, NSF100F, MB5, NS1 and RCV Mini

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2009, 09:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Z
5th Gear Member
 
Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: KANSAS
Posts: 8,539
YSR50.com - Virus Beware

All,

Just a quick heads up. For those of you who frequent YSR50.com for YSR information, it's currently laden with virus code.

About 3 weeks ago, I visited YSR50.com and got this nasty Antivirus 2010 virus that tooks me hours to remove with SDfix and Malwarebytes.

At the time, I had no idea where I caught the virus. 4 days ago, I visited YSR50.com again and caught the same virus. I have numerous anti-malware software and the little bugger still caused me issues. There is now threads in the forum stating it's distributing the virus.

If you use firefox and have your security set on medium-high, it won't let you visit the site. However, if you are on IE, good luck.

If you think I'm full of it, feel free to visit YSR50.com in IE and enjoy removing the virus after your PC bluescreens.

More info on the virus removal here:

Antivirus 2010 / Antivirus2010 Virus Removal Guide | Virus Removal Guru

Dan
Z is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 10-04-2009, 09:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
CrawlerD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Sin City
Posts: 645
Re: YSR50.com - Virus Beware

Thanks Dan. I won't be going over there! Yikes.
CrawlerD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 09:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Z
5th Gear Member
 
Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: KANSAS
Posts: 8,539
Re: YSR50.com - Virus Beware

Visit on a cell phone or Ipod or apple if you want to see what I'm talking about. IE users need not apply.
Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 09:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
ZB50 Jedi
 
tmas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 4,107

Fiddy of the Month 

Re: YSR50.com - Virus Beware

Thanks Dan, I am a member there and definitely won't be going there for a while.
tmas
tmas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 03:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
3rd Gear Member
 
cdoublejj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: St.Joe MO
Posts: 1,367
My Mood: Bored
Re: YSR50.com - Virus Beware

Looks like it does. Thats why i like avast, it instantly alerts me then deletes the virus code and abort the website connection. You also forgot Linux it won't get infected either.



Last edited by cdoublejj; 10-04-2009 at 03:16 PM.
cdoublejj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 03:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
PM Newbie
 
briansX19haulsass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St.Charles
Posts: 93
Re: YSR50.com - Virus Beware

thanks thats scary
briansX19haulsass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 08:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Advertiser
 
firepower354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Flint MI
Posts: 10,989
My Mood: Amused
Re: YSR50.com - Virus Beware

Certain it wasn't BBW-over50.com? I have a friend...
__________________
If it has my name on it I did it;)

FirepowerMinis.com
Custom FPM parts and engines.
Parts and service for all makes.
Honda Trail Bikes parts and accessories.
Pitster/Piranha/Thumpstar bikes, parts, engines and accessories.
firepower354 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 08:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod formerly known as Culdesac
 
NCNSR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Garden City, N.Y.
Posts: 949
My Mood: Cynical
Re: YSR50.com - Virus Beware

Quote:
Originally Posted by firepower354 View Post
Certain it wasn't BBW-over50.com? I have a friend...
???
NCNSR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 09:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Advertiser
 
firepower354's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Flint MI
Posts: 10,989
My Mood: Amused
Re: YSR50.com - Virus Beware

Giving yourself away...
__________________
If it has my name on it I did it;)

FirepowerMinis.com
Custom FPM parts and engines.
Parts and service for all makes.
Honda Trail Bikes parts and accessories.
Pitster/Piranha/Thumpstar bikes, parts, engines and accessories.
firepower354 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2009, 05:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
PM Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 64
Re: YSR50.com - Virus Beware

it has had virus issues now for months. my avg antivirus wont let me go onto the site.
DEFBOY35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 12:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
PM Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 41
Re: YSR50.com - Virus Beware

I got it and it disabled my antivirus software. I am going to read through what Z posted. Right now my PC is toast.
ballzee99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 12:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Z
5th Gear Member
 
Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: KANSAS
Posts: 8,539
Re: YSR50.com - Virus Beware

Quote:
Originally Posted by ballzee99 View Post
I got it and it disabled my antivirus software. I am going to read through what Z posted. Right now my PC is toast.
Install and run malwarebytes.

Restart your PC. If that doesn't take care of it, look into SDfix after you back up all your personal files. It will take 3-4 hours to run.

Not fun.
Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 12:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
PM Newbie
 
raddad13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Nashville,TN
Posts: 40
My Mood: Amused
Re: YSR50.com - Virus Beware

I log on there every day, but somehow it always go's strait to the sign in page, and for about 3wk or so I have been getting that same blue screen, I had know Idea where or what was making it to that. thanks for the heads up looks like no ysr50.com for me for a while.
raddad13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 11:04 AM   #14 (permalink)
1st Gear Member
 
Nooblette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fresno, Ca.
Posts: 200
Re: YSR50.com - Virus Beware

If you go to the forum directly you will not even have to hit the ysr50.com site. The forum is hosted by the proboards and is not affected. I'm Surprised nobody explained this yet.
Compare the 2 addresses. The first one will bring you directly to the forums without risk to your computer. The second link is to ysr50.com. These are 2 different domains.

YSR50.com Forum ! - Login
www.ysr50.com > the ysr connection

My Windows 7 box seems to be immune anyways

Last edited by Nooblette; 10-08-2009 at 11:06 AM.
Nooblette is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
beware, virus, ysr50com



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0
PlanetMinis

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46