Slow Skyteam cobra/ Honda ape copy

PlanetMinis Forums

Slow Skyteam cobra/ Honda ape copy

This is a discussion on Slow Skyteam cobra/ Honda ape copy within the Chinese/Import Minis - General Discussion forums, part of the General Talk category; Hello everyone! This is my first time posting on this forum I've recently bought a Skyteam Cobra 50cc (Chinese Honda Ape copy) with about 5000km ...

This user has no status.

Question Slow Skyteam cobra/ Honda ape copy

Hello everyone!

This is my first time posting on this forum
    I've recently bought a Skyteam Cobra 50cc (Chinese Honda Ape copy) with about 5000km on it. The problem is that it basically runs like crap. You might think that it's because it's a cheap chinese reproduction but I've owned two cobras in the past and they performed well. Here are the problem in more details:
    -When the engine is "cold" (when I just started it), the bike can't even go up a slight hill. It just dies after like 20 meters (depending on the steepness). This sucks since my daily commute starts with a hill... The only way I can get it to go up a hill is to start my commute with a downhill to rev the motor up like crazy (I guess it heat the motor up). Then only does the bike perform a bit better.
    -After a few kms, when its runs normally (I guess) it still doesn't that fast (even for a 50cc)

Here's the thing, the two other Cobras I owned were derestricted (airbox mod, admission pipe, etc) when I bought them and they didn't have these problems. The one I have know isn't so my question is, should I derestrict it? Maybe it's just a carburator adjustment? What should I do?

Cheers,
    Gion

is I only do 2 things , Ride Dirt
    Bikes and Wanting to Ride Dirt
    bikes !!

any pictures of the bike
    T Bolt USA - Let's go riding!

All the top Pit Bikes, Engines and Parts for Pit bikes & Minis! Let us know if we can help!

Hidden Content - Hidden Content - Hidden Content - Hidden Content - (704) T-BOLT-US - Skype: TBoltUSA