1980 chappy piston conundrum

PlanetMinis Forums

This is a discussion on 1980 chappy piston conundrum within the Scooter Forum forums, part of the General Talk category; Hi Gang, I am new to the neighborhood & am looking 4 sum advisement from you ped heads. I am the not-so-proud owner of a ...

This user has no status.

Hi Gang, I am new to the neighborhood & am looking 4 sum advisement from you ped heads. I am the not-so-proud owner of a 1980 chappy lb50. sum1 gave it 2 me awile back & finally got a chance 2 play w/it. Well got it runnin a couple wks ago (it has 4500 mi on the clock) but not 2 gr8, so I figured I'd give the ol girl a massage, I fitted a pollini big-bore kit (50-70cc), a puch 'o' ring hi-comp head, a mikuni vm18 & a giannelli pipe 2 it. but after numerous jetting changes ( idle jets from 30-40 & mains from 70-95) & 1001 combinations, still couldn't get it 2 run like its supposed 2. so I sought out the xperts from another 4rum (b4 I found planetminis of course) I hooked up w/a chappy genius over there who said I had the piston in backwards! when I put in the pollini piston, I put it in the same way as the stocker came out, w/the piston ports facing the xhaust! he said that sum1 had that top end apart b4 & put the piston back in the bore 180* off! & so did I! Is this the case? I didn't even think the engine would even run w/no ports 4 the fuel/air mix 2 get in2 the combustion chamber! but he said it would run, but not 2 its full potential? so go ez on me, chappys r a new animal 2 me, I also own a 1981 Yamaha YZ 250 that I never had 2 take the piston outta, cuz I certainly woulda remembered that! Thanks Guys & Gals-------2smoke

This user has no status.