PlanetMinis Forums banner

1980 Z50R Mild Revamp

34K views 191 replies 39 participants last post by  olyelr 
#1 ·
Merry Christmas everyone!

Hello fellas! I am a newbie to this site, as well as mini bikes in general. I raced motorcycles my whole childhood, but I have been out of the scene since around high school (almost 12 years ago!).

My wife purchased a 1980 Z50R for me for Christmas, and I am stoked as a fat kid in a candy store. So far the plan is to get the bike back to decent condition, keeping it SIMPLE and cheap as possible. Nothing major; basically strip it down, replace any worn parts, paint everything that is orange black, get a new seat, new tires, and put it back together.

So what do you all think?!

It seams to run good for being 31 years old. I don't know much about it, but she bought it from a local guy who was the original owner.

I do have one worry though. There is what appears to be a chuck missing from the front side of the motor. Is this a big issues? Heres a pic....

I will update this thread as I make progress. But, I'm sure it will be a long, drawn out process.

Glad to be a part of the minibike scene!

See less See more
#134 ·
yes the piranha is a manual clutch - tbolt sells the cable and parts needed ask vince

i've got a 4 speed manual lifan 125 in my 91 Z50 and its TONS of power for a wee lil bike ...... tough to hill climb, but a blast to ride and it freight trains away from my buddies 88 kit and 88 race head kitted bikes. ... i just need more gearing for the speed it wants to pull

if you are trail riding the snowblower tires are nice too

#137 ·
Thanks for the info! Yeah, when I do the motor upgrade I will for sure be upgrading the tires. I was thinking those oversized stock looking ones would be ok, but for some reason the thoughts of the snowblower tires keep overpowering them.

Did you end up finalizing the stickers?
Here's a random preview.... :)